top of page

Estifa’a Zaid (Physics Master, 4th year)


Q: What do you think being a Muslim on campus means? “It means being a good human being. Going through campus and leaving people behind in your life who are better people because they met you.” Q: Could you define yourself in one word, quote, or title? “Out of place. Because I was born in the UK – if you look at all the minority groups, I am black, and I am also a Muslim. So depending on the environment, I am out of place there. I am also a woman, which isn’t really out of place but it has its own struggles. I am also Sudanese which is really out of place because we are not really Africans. Africans don’t see us as Africans. And Arabs don’t see us as Arabs because we are black. We just don’t belong anywhere so my whole life is just out of place. Anywhere I go, I am out of place.” Q: Is there a silly habit you have? Or people don’t know about you? Another side of your personality? “I am a compulsive list writer! I live my life through lists, it calms me down. Lists are life. There is a study that says that your brain holds onto everything you have to do and stresses over them, but when you write it down, your brain stops thinking about it. Because it just knows it’s down somewhere. I have a list book dedicated to just my lists!”

bottom of page