top of page

Tariq Abulaban (Computer Engineering, 3rd Year)


Q:Tell us about your roots. "My roots are from Bethlehem, Palestine from my Mom’s side and Az-Zakaryya, Palestine from my Dad’s side. My parents had a very unstable childhood in Palestine due to the ongoing violent political atmosphere, and they’ve worked hard to make it here in Canada. My dad grew up in a refugee camp, and my paternal aunt still lives in this camp." Q: Where do you draw your inspiration from? "I was raised to have a very positive outlook in life and to really appreciate what I’ve got and make the best of it. My mother’s played a big role in helping me see how fortunate I am, and so whenever I see someone who needs help, I feel I have to step in. My father is also an extremely hard working guy who inspires me to work hard and remain disciplined. I want to ensure my family and community is financially secure in the future. This is what is getting me through school right now. " Q: If you could describe yourself to the world how would you? "I’m generally a quiet guy, but I am actually pretty social and am super comfortable in any social group. I think this comes from a sense of shared belonging with everyone and that I care about people." Q: Your last name is pretty interesting, where is its origin? "My name Abulaban goes back to a story in ancient times about an old man who lived in a city that was suffering from a drought. So the old man approached an olive tree and proceeded to pray on it, and when he squeezed the olives, milk started to pour out thus, saving the city."

bottom of page