top of page

Rukhsar Zillur Karim (International Relations, 3rd Year)


Q: How do you want to make a mark in the world? "I love children, and I want to work with them. I aspire to work with NGOs like UNICEF to help spread educational initiatives. I also feel that globally, there is a huge emphasis on STEM related education that focuses on theories and concepts; gearing youth for a global competitive economy. However, there is a lack of values, self-awareness and tolerance of others different from us, that is taught to these kids which results in ignorance and social ills. I also feel that “education” needs to be extended out to more than just the basic subjects and expand onto more practical skills as well." Q: Is there someone in your life you could say you look up to? "Yes! My paternal grandfather. He died when I was 5. But he was a very well respected man. People loved him and looked up to him. Despite all this, he was extremely humble, generous and Allah-conscious. One memory that I still keep of him is his early morning recitation of the Quran beside a special window in his house. I believe his memories have played a huge role in building me to be the person I am today." Q: How’s it been like growing up between Bangladesh and Canada? "My parents are not culturally conservative, but they are devout Muslims and quite conservative in that sphere. I really appreciate the emphasis on education both my parents placed on me, and that they didn’t see success in terms of gender but for what it was. So I was raised not to depend on anyone except for myself. I believe I am the kind person that strives to find a balance between career and family because both are equally important to me and I truly believe that people should be allowed to live their lives the way they like. I don’t like it when people belittle the role of a housewife or mother, which is common among people who are more career driven. At the end of the day, a person’s choice is their choice and if you know me, I’m sure you’ve heard me say, “You do you boo boo!”" Q: I hear that you're a part of the MSA. How’s that worked out so far? "Quite well. I remember last Ramadan when I was helping to organize the Ramadan iftar. I had invited a couple of Muslim friends who were not really observant Muslims in many ways. However, they ended up coming and partaking in the breaking of the fast. I wont forget when the call to prayer was given and they all got up and started to pray. I felt like I finally one was one step closer to achieving my goal- a closer, inclusive and tight knit Muslim community that is open for ALL kinds of Muslims. That’s why I joined MSA."

bottom of page