top of page

Sarramysse Sarikaya - 1st Year


Q: You went to Turkey over summer. People usually don't speak English there, so how was it trying to communicate with the people? A: I speak Turkish so that's not a problem for me. It was awesome to see the surprise on their faces that I can speak their language, especially when I told them that I learned it from watching their TV shows. And I would say "come on your TV shows are so good, it's normal that I learned the language…" it was awesome to just immerse myself into that culture and feel the love in there. When Turkish people talk to me I always have a smile on my face because I feel like I am sharing something of who they are, their identity … even though I am not one of them. I feel more included and like a global citizen.

Q: You're interested in languages. You know French, English, Arabic and Turkish. You're now learning Spanish and Korean. Would you say that your identity is shaped by the many languages and cultures you learn about? A: My identity definitely changed after I tried to be more open to the world, more open to other cultures. There are so many countries and people living different lives. And we bring ourselves together if we try to understand each other, to understand other cultures and learn how they live and their traditions. I guess languages is my way of getting to understand other people and their culture. If I understand their language, perhaps I'll understand how they're thinking.

Q: You've become an active member of Arab Student Association at UBC and credit it for making you less lonely on campus. Do you have any advice for our readers on how to overcome loneliness? A: I would say: get out there! I know you feel lonely. I know there's lot to do — assignments, exams etc. You're really happy staying in bed or staying warm … there's snow and rain. But there are a lot of people out there who need you, and you need them too. Share whatever you have, and let them share whatever they have. Even if you don't become friends, you'll at least give them a moment that they're going to remember. Just don't be scared. Be yourself, go out there and participate.

bottom of page